Thoughts on Technology and Human Interface Idea

4 Sep

Many of these new art based technologies are actually very interesting however I’m not sure I would use all of them in my future classroom. If I had high school students, I cannot imagine using the I/O Brush and canvas due to it’s large brush and simple 2D illusion of texture. They would not be able to depict details with such a large brush and the texture shown on the canvas would simply be an illusion of real texture, with the flat canvas still being smooth, not textured. My fear with this brush is that they would not need to learn to draw the detail seen through the camera, because it copies everything onto the canvas screen. However, if different sized brushes were made, I would be all for this!

The several interface projections and interactive projectors would be very fun to have in a classroom, especially with youngsters. The cost of owning such a thing seems daunting. Yet it would be great to have because students can use their bodies to create and interact with art work causing activities to be memorable and creative. This idea of using your body and not just your mind relates to Anderson’s article and how we need to start accommodating technology and innovation into our teaching, especially since 2020 is not that far away! This is something that I will have to work on, considering that I am not exactly tech-savvy. However I am motivated to learn about these technologies so I do not fall behind the born digital generations of the future that Anderson and Balsamo described.

One Response to “Thoughts on Technology and Human Interface Idea”

  1. Mr WordPress September 4, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a comment